Best AI Video Tools
Luma AI logo

Luma AI review

Unranked: no click data yet

The lab behind Dream Machine and the Ray video models, now selling Luma Agents, an AI creative workspace with Ray3.2, Uni-1 and models like Veo, Kling and Seedance

From $25/moWebiOSAPI
Try Luma AI

Checked 2026-10-22

Our verdict

Luma builds its own video models and has wrapped them, and a long list of partner models, in an agent that plans and produces whole campaigns. Credit costs are fully published and Ray3.2 has rare controls like 16 keyframes and EXR export. It is a professional tool now, starting at $30 a month with no clear free tier.

Best for: Agencies, brand teams and filmmakers who want Luma's own Ray models plus Veo, Kling and Seedance in one agent-driven workspace, with HDR and EXR output for real post-production.

What is good

  • Builds its own frontier video models, not only resold ones
  • Ray3.2's 16 keyframes give unusual control over a single shot
  • HDR and 16-bit EXR output fit VFX and color pipelines
  • Every model's credit cost is published, down to the second
  • Commercial use on every paid plan
  • Failed generations refund their credits

What is not

  • Cheapest plan is $30 a month, and the free trial amount is not stated
  • Ray3.2 text-to-video and image-to-video have no native audio
  • Partner models are costly; Veo 3.1 with audio is 280 credits a second
  • Monthly credits expire at the end of each billing cycle
  • Two product lines (Luma Agents and legacy Dream Machine) make it unclear what you are buying
  • The agent and board workflow is more than a casual creator needs

Luma AI in screenshots

Luma homepage headline: Luma is your creative partner
Luma now leads with its creative agents, built on its own Ray and Uni models.
Luma Ray3.2 page headline: Direct any frame. Finish every cut.
Ray3.2 adds up to 16 keyframes per clip, Modify Video and EXR export.
Luma pricing page with Plus, Pro and Ultra plans
Pricing. Plus, Pro and Ultra share one credit system across Luma and partner models.

What Luma is

Luma AI is a Palo Alto lab that builds its own video and image models. Many creators know it for Dream Machine, the video app it launched in 2024. In 2026 Luma moved its main product to something broader. The site now just calls it Luma, a workspace run by Luma Agents that plan, generate and refine work across video, image, audio and text.

The video model underneath is Ray3.2, announced in June 2026. Luma calls it its “newest and most versatile video model.” Ray3.14 is still available as a cheaper option. Uni-1 is Luma’s image model. Next to them sit partner models: Veo 3.1, Kling 3.0, Seedance 2.0 and 2.5, MiniMax H3, Nano Banana, GPT Image, Seedream and ElevenLabs audio.

The old Dream Machine page on Luma’s site now redirects to the new product. Dream Machine itself still runs at its own address and in the iOS app. This review covers the current Luma product, which is what new sign-ups get.

Who it is for

Luma fits you if:

  • You work at an agency or brand team and need many variants of a campaign, fast.
  • You want fine control over a single shot. Ray3.2 lets you set up to 16 keyframes in one clip.
  • You restyle real footage. Modify Video keeps an actor’s performance while changing the world around them.
  • You deliver into color and VFX pipelines and need HDR or EXR frames.
  • You want Veo, Kling and Seedance without separate subscriptions.

Skip it if:

  • You want a free tier for regular use. Plans start at $30 a month.
  • You want native audio from Luma’s own model. Ray3.2 does not generate sound for text or image prompts.
  • You only make the odd social clip. The agent and board workflow is built for bigger projects.

How it works

Luma is a web app built around boards and an agent.

Boards and the agent

A board is an infinite, zoomable canvas. You place, group and compare assets, annotate them with notes and shapes, and organise them in frames.

The agent works in two modes. Brainstorm Mode plans and explores ideas without making media. Create Mode generates. Luma says the agent picks the right model for each request, so you do not need to know which model to use. You can still choose models and settings yourself.

Luma’s examples include brand identity explorations, product shots from every angle, social video ads with hooks and captions, storyboards, slide decks, localized videos and podcast clips turned into video. Luma Skills, launched in June 2026, lets you save a workflow and run it again.

Ray3.2

Ray3.2 rolls four jobs into one model:

  • Text-to-video and image-to-video, in 5 or 10 second clips at 360p draft, 540p, 720p or 1080p.
  • Multi-Keyframe, up to 16 keyframes inside a clip. Earlier Ray models only took a start frame and sometimes an end frame.
  • Modify Video, which restyles footage you upload. Luma says it keeps body pose, gestures and facial expression (up to 8 faces) while you change the setting, wardrobe or lighting. Clips run up to 20 seconds at 24fps, 15 at 30fps and 7 at 60fps.
  • Reframe, which changes the aspect ratio of a clip.

Output is MP4 by default. Ray3.2 can also generate native 16-bit HDR and export EXR frames in ACES2065-1, which Luma pitches at colorists and compositors working in Resolve or Nuke.

Luma’s own FAQ says Ray3.2 text-to-video and image-to-video have no native audio. Modify Video and Reframe keep your source audio.

Audio, lip sync and localization

Luma adds sound through partner models: ElevenLabs v3 for speech, SFX v2 and Music v1, plus Seed Audio and Whisper for transcription. Lip sync uses Sync models. You can upload a character video, add a voice track and sync the lips, then switch the language and sync again.

API and apps

The Ray3.2 API exposes multi-keyframe, performance tracking and EXR output. It is pay as you go, with a Scale plan for guaranteed throughput. The Uni-1.1 API covers images. For mobile, the Luma Dream Machine app is on the App Store.

Output quality

We have not run Luma ourselves for this review. What its pages show:

  • Ray3.2 is pitched at production. Luma promises “cinema-grade output” and 1080p across every mode. Treat that as the vendor’s claim and test it on your own shots.
  • Agencies vouch for it. Luma’s case studies quote Aperture, Boundless and The Wonder Project, and the CEO of Publicis Groupe Middle East and Turkey. Luma and The Wonder Project also launched a production company together in April 2026.
  • Modify Video has clear limits. Luma says it works best on steady cameras, clear lighting and one or a few well-separated subjects. Shaky, fast, dark or crowded footage will struggle.
  • Partner models look like partner models. A Veo 3.1 or Kling 3.0 clip in Luma should match those models elsewhere. You pay Luma’s credit rate for them.

Pricing

Luma charges in credits that work across its own and partner models. Every paid plan includes commercial use.

Plan Price Credits a month
Plus $25/mo yearly, $30 monthly 10,000
Pro $75/mo yearly, $90 monthly 40,000, 4x Luma Agents usage
Ultra $250/mo yearly, $300 monthly 150,000, 15x Luma Agents usage
Team Contact sales Shared team credits, SSO
Enterprise Contact sales Custom fine-tuning, training

What credits buy

Luma publishes the cost of every model. For Ray3.2 in standard (SDR) output:

Ray3.2 Draft 540p 720p 1080p
5-second clip 20 50 100 400
10-second clip 60 150 300 1,200

HDR doubles these costs. HDR with EXR triples them.

Worked out per plan:

  • Plus (10,000 credits): about 100 five-second clips at 720p, or about 8 minutes of footage. At 1080p it is 25 clips, about 2 minutes. If you draft first, 500 draft clips cost the same as the whole allowance.
  • Pro (40,000 credits): about 400 clips at 720p or 100 at 1080p.
  • Ultra (150,000 credits): about 375 clips at 1080p, roughly half an hour.

At $30 for 10,000 credits, one credit costs $0.003. That makes a 5-second 720p Ray3.2 clip about $0.30 and a 1080p clip about $1.20, the same as Luma’s pay-as-you-go API price.

Partner models cost more. Seedance 2.5 at 720p is 78 credits a second, so a 5-second clip is 390 credits and Plus covers about 25. Kling 3.0 at 1080p with audio is 49 credits a second. Veo 3.1 with audio is 280 credits a second, so 5 seconds costs 1,400 credits and Plus buys about 7.

Things to know before you pay

  • No stated free allowance. Luma’s FAQ says you can try the platform free, but it does not say how much. Third-party guides, such as eesel’s June 2026 pricing breakdown, describe the Luma Agents plans as having no free tier.
  • Credits expire each month. Luma says unused credits do not carry over.
  • Overage is capped by you. If you run out, you set an extra spending limit, and Luma pauses at it.
  • Failed generations are refunded in credits.
  • Yearly saves about 17%. Plus drops from $30 to $25 a month. Luma’s headline says “up to 20%.”

Legacy Dream Machine plans

Existing Dream Machine users may still be on older plans. Luma does not list them on its pricing page. Eesel’s guide reports Lite at $9.99, Plus at $29.99 and Unlimited at $94.99 a month, with a free tier limited to draft quality, a watermark and personal use. We could not confirm these on Luma’s own pages, so check your account before relying on them.

How Luma compares

Luma’s nearest rival is Runway. Both train their own frontier models and both resell partner models in one app. Runway leans on editing tools, Aleph and Premiere and After Effects plugins, and starts at $12 a month. Luma leans on an agent that runs whole campaigns, plus Ray3.2’s keyframes and EXR output, and starts at $30.

Against LTX Studio, which also plans and storyboards whole productions, Luma has its own frontier model and stronger finishing formats. Against Krea, a broad model menu with a lower entry price, Luma is more focused on production teams.

Verdict

Luma has grown from the Dream Machine app into a full creative platform for professionals. It still builds its own video models, and Ray3.2’s 16 keyframes, Modify Video and HDR and EXR output are rare. Every credit cost is public, and a 720p Ray3.2 clip works out to about 30 cents on the Plus plan.

The catch is the entry point. There is no clear free tier, the cheapest plan is $30 a month, and Ray3.2 does not generate sound. If you run campaigns or post-production, try the free trial, then start on monthly Plus to see how much the agent saves you. If you only want a few clips, a cheaper generator will serve you better.

Luma AI FAQ

Is Luma AI free?

Luma says you can try the platform free before choosing a plan, but it does not say how many credits the trial includes. All listed plans are paid, starting with Plus at $30 a month. Third-party pricing guides say the older Dream Machine product still has a free tier with watermarked, non-commercial output.

How much does Luma cost?

Plus is $30 a month or $25 billed yearly. Pro is $90 monthly or $75 yearly, and Ultra is $300 monthly or $250 yearly. Team and Enterprise plans are priced through sales.

How many videos do Luma credits buy?

Luma lists Ray3.2 at 100 credits for a 5-second 720p clip and 400 credits at 1080p. Plus's 10,000 credits cover about 100 clips at 720p or 25 at 1080p. Pro's 40,000 cover about 400 at 720p or 100 at 1080p. HDR doubles the cost and HDR plus EXR triples it.

What happened to Luma Dream Machine?

Luma's main product is now called Luma, built around Luma Agents, and the old Dream Machine page redirects to it. The Dream Machine app still runs at dream-machine.lumalabs.ai and on iOS, and third-party guides say its legacy plans are still billed for existing users.

Do Luma credits roll over?

No. Luma says unused monthly credits expire at the end of the billing cycle. If you run out, you can set an extra spending limit in your account settings, and Luma pauses when you reach it.

Does Ray3.2 generate sound?

Not for text-to-video or image-to-video. Luma says you add voiceover, music and sound effects separately, which you can do in the same workspace with ElevenLabs models. Modify Video and Reframe keep the original audio of your clip.

Does Luma have an API?

Yes. The Ray3.2 API costs $0.30 for a 5-second 720p clip and $1.20 at 1080p, pay as you go with no commitment. A Scale plan adds dedicated capacity, an SLA and a no-training guarantee.

Alternatives to Luma AI

Swipe the table sideways to see every tool.

Luma AIRunwayLTX StudioKrea
Starting priceFrom $25/moFrom $12/moFrom $12/moFrom $5.25/mo
Free tier
PricingFree trial (amount not stated). Paid plans from $25/mo billed yearly ($30 monthly), all with commercial use.Free plan with 125 one-time credits. Paid plans from $12/mo billed yearly ($15 monthly).Free plan with 800 one-time credits and a personal-use license. Paid plans from $12/mo billed yearly ($15 monthly); commercial use starts at Standard.Free plan with 100 compute units a day. Paid plans from $5.25/mo billed yearly ($9 monthly).
PlatformsWeb, iOS, APIWeb, iOS, Android, APIWebWeb, iOS, API
Best forAgencies, brand teams and filmmakers who want Luma's own Ray models plus Veo, Kling and Seedance in one agent-driven workspace, with HDR and EXR output for real post-production.Filmmakers, editors, agencies and brand teams who want frontier video models plus serious editing tools, and are willing to pay per second of footage.Filmmakers, agencies and brand teams who want to plan, generate and cut a whole AI video project in one workspace instead of stitching clips from separate tools.Designers and creative teams who make images and video together and want most of the big generation models under one login.
Last checked2026-10-222026-10-212026-10-212026-10-21

Ready to try Luma AI?

Free trial (amount not stated). Paid plans from $25/mo billed yearly ($30 monthly), all with commercial use.

Sponsor a slot

Y

Your tool

Your one-line pitch goes here

Ad

$199 / month

20 of 20 open

Choose your slot

Slot 1. Desktop: left rail, card 1 (front of the flip). Mobile: top bar.

  • Shown on every page of the site
  • A card in the side rails on desktop and a chip in the scrolling bars on mobile
  • Rotates with the other sponsors every few seconds, so every slot gets equal time
  • Direct link to your site
  • Monthly, cancel anytime
Reserve slot 1

Questions? contact@bestaivideo.tools